IMG 8454

IMG 9654

IMG 9651 1

What Level of Ski or Snowboard Am I?

Our private lessons mean that what ever level you are, we can build a lesson for you, tailoring it to your exact needs. When you are booking  a lesson it can help us to plan more effectively if you can identify your level using the guidance below.

Level 1

Skiing    

This is my first time. I have never put skis on before either on snow or on a dry slope. I might have tried before but had no formal lessons.

Snowboarding

This is my first time. I might have tried before but had no formal lessons.

Level 2

Skiing 

I have tried skiing before, on snow or on a dry slope. I understand what a "snowplough" is and  have started to snowplough turn on the nursery  or green slopes. 

Snowboarding

I can side slip in control on both my heel and toe edge. I can slow down and speed up and change direction whilst doing this.

Level 3

Skiing

I can make a series of linked snowplough turns on a green or blue run. I start my turn in a plough then finish the turn with my skis becoming more parallel.

Snowboarding

I can turn heelside to toeside and toeside to heelside on easy terrain such as a green run, snowdome, or dryslope. I can use the button lift. 

Level 4

Skiing 

I am comfortable skiing on blue runs, my skis are becoming more parallel but still use a small plough to start my turns. When things get tricky I may revert back to snowploughing and I feel less confident. I want to perfect my pole plant.

Snowboarding

I can ride and turn on blue runs. On green runs I can link my turns and carry my speed from one turn to the next.

Level 5

Skiing

I am a competent parallel skier and can ski red runs in good conditions with a well cordinated pole plant. I want to learn how to adapt or broaden my technique when things get tricky ie on bumpy or steep slopes or when the snow is icy or deep. 

Snowboarding